2014 World Cup Finals: Star Players And Their Prestigious Awards
July 15, 2014

After Germany owning the FIFA title, it was time to award the best from the tournament. The most prestigious season ended with lighting new talents and young football players. It is rightly to say that the 2014 World Cup saw more furious performance, beautiful celebrations and young international careers. Neymar, Messi and James became the flavor of the month. Here’s award for them….look at the list.

James Rodriguez (Colombia) — Golden Boot Award

The biggest sensational star of the season was James Rodriguez, who netted goal in every single match. He played and pushed his country ahead in the quarterfinals. His out-of-this-world goal against Uruguay was one of the best of the tournament, and marked the beginning of his spectacular career. James Rodriguez scored 6 goals and was given the Golden Boot. Thomas Muller, who finished with 5 goals, awarded Silver Boot and Bronze Boot was given to Neymar for 4 goals.

Lionel Messi (Argentina) — Golden Ball Award

Messi for Golden Ball was bit of surprise for everyone, given his uninspiring performance in the tournament. Argentina went scoreless for three matches and Messi didn’t score for four knockout matches. Though, they made it to Final and this is all because of immense burden he carried on his shoulder. He tackled two, three defenders at once. Thomas Muller earns the Silver Ball and Arjen Robben gets the Bronze Ball of the tournament.

Paul Pogba (France) —Young Player Award

This award is given to player who is born after 1/1/93 and Pogba was an amazing choice. He was Man of the Match in France win over Nigeria. He proved outstanding in all of the five matches for his country and indeed he holds brighter future.

Manuel Neuer (Germany) — Golden Glove Award

Manuel worked tremendously for Germany. His domination in his territory made him an easy choice for the title. Though 2014 World Cup saw goalkeepers shining brightly, including Argentina’s Sergio Romero, Guillermo Ochoa of Mexico, Tim Howard from USA and Costa Rica’s Keylor Navas.

Colombia Team- Fair Play Award


Colombia was given this award due to strong disciplinary performance. They got just five yellow cards in five matches and showed their true sportsman spirit throughout the event. Colombia also won under the special measure “for scoring highly in the criteria set by FIFA’s Technical Study Group, which includes positive play, respect towards the opponent and match officials, as well as the behavior of their team officials and supporters.”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 − six =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>